Create a message

Step 1 – Content

Select Channel

Select a channel from which your message will be sent. This option is useful when you own multiple channels. You can select only one channel from the list of your active and draft channels.

A created message will appear only in message thread of the selected channel. Channel name appears as sender name to the end user.

Title

Next, you will be asked to provide a title of your message (max 80 characters). This field is used only internally to differentiate between multiple of your messaging campaigns (end users do not see the title of your messages).

Message text 

Enter the message you want to send to your end users. Maximum 2000 characters.

Message Image / Media

Use this field to attach one image or video file to visually represent your message.


Step 2 – Timeframe

Use this step to configure the start and end date of your message.

Set start date

Here you specify when do you want to start sending a message(s) to the end users. If you choose to skip this step, your message will be sent as soon as it has been published.

Example: use this field to schedule your message to start sending next Monday at 10 AM.

Notice: Once you set start date, you will be able to change entered values only while the message is in Draft mode. Once your message is active, you will not be able to edit entered values again.

Set end date

Specify the date and time from which your message will not be accessible (stop sending a message) to the end users. Once end date and time has been reached, the message will change status to Finished and will be archived in the system.

Schedule a recurring engagement

Choose between daily, weekly, monthly and yearly recurrence for your message.

Frequency– Daily, Weekly, Monthly.

Appears at– Choose the time when you wish your message to appear.

Duration– Choose unit (minutes, hours), enter number of minutes, hour.

Example: set to send your message every day at 10 AM (daily recurrence) or choose to send it every Monday at 3 PM (weekly recurrence) or every 1st of the month at 9 AM (monthly recurrence).


Step 3 – Users

This is the last step in the message creation process. Here you can segment your message to be sent only to a specific end-user group, send a message when users arrive at the specific location(s) and/or request permission from tenant to broadcast message to all app users.

Set segmentation

By default, your message will be sent to all channel followers (or all app users if broadcasted through tenant). Use segmentation to send a message only to a specific target group.

Example: use segmentation to send a message to the end users who have been following your channel for 30 days or have reached a certain level in your loyalty program.

Set proximity targeting

By default, your message will be sent to all channel followers (or all app users if broadcasted through tenant). Use proximity targeting to send a message only to the end users who appear at a certain location(s).

Example: send a message to the end users who walk pass my store. When end users walk pass my store, they will receive a message and in-app notification.

Notice: messages do not disappear from the chat thread once end users leave your location(s).

Target group

Based on your selection, you can see how many users are expected to receive your message. By default, target group value is equal to all followers of your selected channel. Based on the complexity of your segmentation, some target groups require some time to be calculated.

Preview engagement

Check how customers will see your engagement before you publish it.

Message navigation buttons

During the entire process of creating a message, you have multiple options displayed on the bottom of the wizard that help you navigate and change the status of your message:

  • Save – saves data that is entered to that moment
  • Back – move to the previous step in the message creation wizard
  • Next – move to the next step in the message creation wizard
  • “←” (back arrow) – this option returns you to the main menu and disregards all changes.

 

Notice 1: the message can be deleted only in a draft or pending approval stage. Once deleted, the message disappears from your list of messages.

When you reach the last step Create option appears. Create option makes your message active or scheduled depending on the start date and time you chose or pending approval if you had selected broadcast to all app users.

Once message becomes active, option Disable appears (in edit mode). Disable allows you to temporarily disable your message and make it unavailable for the end users. Once disabled, a message can be re-enabled by pressing an Enable button.

Notice 2: a message is automatically moved to status finished once the message reaches the end date. Finished messages are displayed in your list of all messages.

Notice 3: once you have request broadcast message to all app users and tenant has approved it, a message cannot be edited. A message can only be disabled from that point.

Message

Introduction

A message is sent to users in form of text and is visible within your channel chat. You can optionally add URL, image or video to be sent with the message. Messages are being sent as a bulk to all or specific end-user groups (decided by you).

Notice: Messages appear as in-app notification and within your channel chat thread.

End users can receive a message:

  • Only once (default message state)
  • Multiple times (if you choose to set recurrence as described below in Step 2)

Message(s) will be sent from the moment they are published until the end date and time of the message campaign.